Monday, March 10, 2008

Butch named All-Big Ten

Congratulations to Brian Butch on being named first team All-Big Ten by both the media and coaches. He deserves it, and this should help quiet any remaining critics he may still have. Butch also won a sportsmanship award, whatever that means.

Michael Flowers was second team media and third team coaches, opposite for Marcus Landry. Flowers was also on the all-defensive team, but voters apparently got blinded by steals totals and voted Chris Kramer defensive player of the year. Joe Krabbenhoft was also named to the all-defensive team.

Our super sophomore guards were honored as well - Trevon Hughes was honorable mention and Jason Bohannon was sixth man of the year.

Can't argue too hard with any of the selections, but if you pushed me, I'd posit that Wisconsin and Purdue deserve more than Butch and Robbie Hummel on the first team. Jamar Butler and Drew Neitzel split first team honors, but their statistics ring hollow - they led the two biggest underachieving teams in the Big Ten. It's not a lifetime achievement honor. For my money either Flowers, the actual best defensive player in the conference, or E'Twaun Moore should have been named first team over these two. Hell, Manny Harris or Raymar Morgan would have been better choices.

Kudos to Matt Painter, a deserving coach of the year. Any other year Bo would have ben an easy choice, but I can't imagine this bothers him too much!

No comments: